The Rains of Castamere? Yes!

“And who are you, the proud lord said, that I must bow so low?
Only a cat of a different coat, that’s all the truth I know.
In a coat of gold or a coat of red, a lion still has claws,
And mine are long and sharp, my lord, as long and sharp as yours.
And so he spoke, and so he spoke, that lord of Castamere,
But now the rains weep o’er his hall, with no one there to hear.
Yes now the rains weep o’er his hall, and not a soul to hear.”

~The Rains of Castamere, A Storm of Swords

When I saw the track listing for the Game of Thrones Season 2 Soundtrack I was thrilled that “The Rains of Castamere,” performed by The National, was included.  I didn’t expect to hear an official version of the song so soon.  Then I listened to it.

I have to say, after first hearing it, I was disappointed.  It didn’t seem to capture the grandness I was expecting of the song played during the infamous “Red Wedding,” which I will not spoil here.  Where were the ominous, thumping drums which literally was the pulse of that scene in A Storm of Swords?  However, the more I listened the more it grew on me.  This version included on the soundtrack is clearly a dirge, and I suspect that it’ll be played either during the ending for Episode 9: Blackwater or during the ending credits.  In this way the song will, hopefully, come to represent Lannister victory to the TV audience.  They will also come to realize that no good ever comes when this tune is played.

Though I’ve certainly come to appreciate the version released with Season 2, there is another version I prefer over it.  In the recording made by DouglasHarris0n on YouTube, The Rains of Castamere has a more celebratory sound as befitting a feast after a victory or even a wedding (though not that wedding).  If you’re looking for a different sound, check out the video posted by RyanYunckMusic.  It has a more folksy sound to it with its harp-reproduction on a digital piano.

For more on the Reyne-Tarbeck Rebellion that inspired The Rains of Castamere, head here to the Westeros.org wiki page or this video on Lannister history on YouTube.

About wordlyChimp

I read, write, and play games. Reverend Mothers fear the power of my prose (well, that's what I tell myself). I am the Risk Master.

Posted on May 25, 2012, in Books, TV/Movies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

