I Still Have a Blog? Also, the Iron Throne!

I apparently lost interest in maintaining a blog.  Although I never really thought about having one, I kinda liked the idea of this one.  Too bad I lost my inspiration for it.  Mayhaps the inspiration will return…

So, how was today different from all other days… I went into New York City today, and not to meet up with my friends!  What madness is this?  Well, I guess it has something to do with HBO’s new show based on George R. R. Martin’s first book in the A Song of Ice and Fire series, “Game of Thrones.”  Who could possibly pass up the opportunity to sit on the Iron Throne?

According to A Wiki of Ice and Fire:

The Iron Throne is the throne of the Seven Kingdoms, upon which the king rules. It is often used as a metonymic device to refer to the king’s authority. Individuals who act on the king’s behalf, such as his Hand or regent, may sit on the throne in his absence. The chair itself is cold and hard, with many jagged edges.

Also, it is made of 1,000 swords.  You know, so that a king could never sit comfortably on his throne.

Yeah, I don’t know about that since the one I sat on in Columbus Circle seemed pretty comfy to me.  I also got a nice, fancy picture out of it.  Afterwards, I walked to the HBO shop and gazed longingly at Dany’s eggs.  Her dragon eggs.  What were you guys thinking about?

Since I had sat on the Iron Throne I was given a free key-chain at the store.  It looks like a mini-shield emblazoned with an image of the direwolf (sigil of House Stark of Winterfell).  I also picked up a stein with the sigil and motto of House Arryn.

Well, I’m not quite sure how to end this post.  Beginnings and endings are tricky.  Oh, I know!

Winter is coming.

About wordlyChimp

I read, write, and play games. Reverend Mothers fear the power of my prose (well, that's what I tell myself). I am the Risk Master.

Posted on April 15, 2011, in Books, News, TV/Movies and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

